Date: 7/28/2019 10:29:25 PM


WALL, N.J. ~ In front of a large grandstand crowd that included over 50 of the speedway's past driving champions Jimmy Blewett of Howell won the “Summer Scorcher 125” for All American Auto Group Modified stock cars at Wall Stadium Speedway Saturday night. The victory earned Blewett $5,000 and a watch from sponsor Mertens Jewelers.

Tyler Truex of Mayetta was the first leader of the contest as Holmdel's Andrew Krause quickly moved in to challenge. Krause was finally able to charge into the top spot on a lap 26 restart. Blewett then wrestled Truex for second before taking over the spot on lap 42. Another caution slowed the race a few laps later and Krause became one of the first to duck into the pit area for a pair of new tires.

Blewett stayed on the track, took command on the restart and led through the middle stages of the race before changing two tires near lap 70. Krause then had climbed back through the field before taking the lead near lap 80. Blewett then had his turn to climb through the pack and landed in second spot just past lap 90. Blewett then shadowed Krause for several laps before racing into the lead in the outside lane on lap 97.

From that point on Blewett held his ground as Krause fought back while running second. The top two were in tight formation at the finish with Blewett taking the checker flag. Ricky Collins of Willow Grove, Pa. Was impressive in finishing third, while Danny Bohn of Mooresville, N.C. and Kenny Van Wickle of Manasquan completed the top five.

“Great to be in Victory Lane tonight at Wall Stadium,” Blewett said after the win. “Thanks to Rob Ormsbee, Tom Martino, Rob Fuller, Woody's, my crew, my spotter Tim Riggleman, Wall Stadium management and the fans who packed the place tonight.”

Beachwood's Elliott Wohl caught early leader Scott Riggleman of Manchester in the first half of the race and challenged him for the top spot before taking the lead near the halfway point. Wohl then dedicated his win to his mother Ruth who was celebrating a birthday. Riggleman, the returning Mike Montano of Freeport, N.Y., Wall's Bryan O'Shea and Jackson's Shanon Mongeau completed the top 5 in the 25-lap race.

Point leader Neil Rutt III of Edison continued his winning ways in the 25-lapper for the Surfside Collision 4 Cylinder stocks topping the 25-lapper after a side-by-side battle with runner-up Alonzo Morales of Mt. Ephraim that lasted for the final five laps. Ryan Maher of Neptune City, Edison's Darianne McLaren and Brick's Randy Hart were third through fifth.

Mike Alcaro of West Milford won the 25-lap race for the Green Flag Driving Experience Legend Cars. Invader Mason Magee crossed the finish line second but failed the post race inspection. Howell's Rob Silver, Sean Verwys, Joe McGrath of Brick and Joe Przybylinski were second through fifth.

Auto racing continues at Wall Stadium Speedway this Saturday (August 3) night. Action is slated for the Modifieds, Sportsman, Limited Late Models and 4 Cylinder Stocks. Grandstand gates open at 5:00 p.m., qualifying begins at 5:45 p.m. and features start at 7:00 p.m.

Wall Stadium is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is 

MODIFIED FEATURE – 125 Laps – 1. JIMMY BLEWETT, HOWELL, 2. Andrew Krause, 3. Ricky Collins, 4. Danny Bohn, 5. Kenny Van Wickle, 6. Steven Reed, 7. Dom Fattaruso, 8. Jason Treat, 9. Eddie McCarthy, 10. Blake Barney, 11. Joey Jarowicz, 12. Tyler Truex, 13. Chris Andretta, 14. Marc Rogers, 15. Tom Catanzaro, 16. Derek Hopkinson, 17. Shaun Carrig, 18. Adam LaCicero, 19. Robert French, 20. Kevin Davison

FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. ELLIOTT WOHL, BEACHWOOD, 2. Scott Riggleman, 3. Mike Montano, 4. Bryan O'Shea, 5. Shanon Mongeau, 6. Joey Helberg, 7. Tim Majek, 8. Tom Rajkowski, 9. Joe Mongeau, 10. John Bowers, 11. Kevin Flores, 12. Tony Bartone, 13. Billy Both, 14. Theresa Collins, 15. Sal Liguori, 16. Gerry Koenig, 17. Robert Stack, 18. Nancy Riggleman, 19. Nick Kilmer, 20. Mike Baldwin, 21. Ashley Tyler, 22. Ryan Flores, 23. Robert Ptaszynski, 24. Matt Malachaka, 25 John Carpenter

4 CYLINDER STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. NEIL RUTT III, EDISON, 2. Alonzo Morales, 3. Ryan Maher, 4. Darianne McLaren, 5. Randy Hart, 6. Doug Ashford, 7. Marko Vulsanic, 8. Cody Critelli, 9. Jeffrey Loesch, 10. Ricky Williams, 11. Brian Osborn, 12. Deanna McLaren, 13. Nicole Razzano

LEGEND CARS FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. MIKE ALCARO, WEST MILFORD, 2. Rob Silver, 3. Sean Verwys, 4. Joe McGrath, 5. Joe Przybylinski, 6. Jim Downy, 7. Peter Bruno, 8. Quinn Trimmer, 9. Kevin Pritchard, 10. Joe Fresco, 11. Roger Nickerson, 12. Eddie Idec, DQ Mason Magee

Return-to-Wall Township Speedway